The History of the Mr Olympia Competition

The world of bodybuilding has produced legends, and Mr. Olympia is the ultimate stage where these titans collide. This prestigious annual event has crowned the best of the best in bodybuilding since its inception in 1965. Let’s dive into the history of the Mr. Olympia competition and how it has evolved over the years, showcasing the extraordinary athletes who have earned the coveted title.

The Beginning

The Mr. Olympia competition was the brainchild of Joe Weider, co-founder of the International Federation of BodyBuilders (IFBB) and publisher of the popular Muscle & Fitness magazine. Joe, along with his brother Ben Weider, sought to create an elite bodybuilding competition that would not only showcase the most outstanding physiques globally but also serve as a platform to promote the sport. The first Mr. Olympia contest took place on September 18, 1965, at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in New York City.

The inaugural event saw Larry Scott, a bodybuilding icon, emerge as the first-ever Mr. Olympia. Scott successfully defended his title in 1966 before retiring, paving the way for a new era of champions. Sergio Oliva, known as “The Myth,” won the title in 1967, 1968, and 1969, becoming the first three-time winner.

The Austrian Oak & The Era of Dominance

In 1970, a young Austrian named Arnold Schwarzenegger stepped into the limelight and won his first Mr. Olympia title, dethroning Oliva. This victory marked the beginning of Schwarzenegger’s reign as the dominant force in bodybuilding. He went on to win the title consecutively from 1970 to 1975 and again in 1980, totaling seven victories, which was a record at that time. His charismatic personality and impressive physique elevated the sport to new heights, capturing the imagination of fans worldwide.

Following Schwarzenegger’s retirement, a new wave of champions emerged. Frank Zane, known for his aesthetic and symmetrical physique, won the title from 1977 to 1979. During the 1980s, bodybuilders like Samir Bannout, Chris Dickerson, and Lee Haney continued to raise the bar. Haney’s reign from 1984 to 1991 resulted in an unprecedented eight consecutive victories, surpassing Schwarzenegger’s record and establishing a new standard in the sport.

The Impact of Old-School Bodybuilding on Modern Fitness Culture

The 90s-2023

The 1990s saw the rise of Dorian Yates, who introduced the concept of mass with aesthetics, winning the Mr. Olympia title six consecutive times (1992-1997). Following Yates’ retirement, Ronnie Coleman burst onto the scene, winning eight consecutive titles from 1998 to 2005, equaling Haney’s record.

In the 2010s, the Mr. Olympia contest witnessed the dominance of Phil Heath, who won seven titles (2011-2017). Other noteworthy champions include Dexter Jackson (2008), Jay Cutler (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010), and Shawn Rhoden (2018).

The Mr. Olympia competition continues to evolve and grow in popularity. The most recent winners include Brandon Curry (2019) and Mamdouh Elssbiay, also known as Big Ramy (2020-2021). Hadi Choopan took the crown in 2022. As the sport progresses, new contenders from around the globe are emerging to challenge the existing champions, with each competitor bringing their unique style and dedication to the stage.


The Mr. Olympia competition has come a long way since its inception in 1965. The dedication, discipline, and passion displayed by these athletes continue to inspire generations of bodybuilders and fitness enthusiasts alike. From Larry Scott to Big Ramy, each champion has left an indelible mark on the sport and contributed to the competition’s rich history.

The introduction of new categories such as the Classic Physique and Men’s Physique divisions has broadened the competition’s appeal, allowing for a more diverse representation of bodybuilding ideals. These changes ensure that the Mr. Olympia contest remains relevant, captivating, and inspiring to fans worldwide.

As we look to the future, the Mr. Olympia competition will continue to be the pinnacle of bodybuilding excellence. It will remain the stage where only the very best come to compete and etch their names in the annals of bodybuilding history. With each passing year, the sport evolves, and the athletes continue to push the limits of human potential. It is this relentless pursuit of greatness that makes the Mr. Olympia competition truly legendary.

In summary, the history of the Mr. Olympia competition is a testament to the incredible dedication, hard work, and perseverance of the athletes who have graced its stage. It is a celebration of the human spirit and an enduring symbol of excellence in the world of bodybuilding. As the competition moves forward, we can only expect to witness more incredible feats of strength, size, and aesthetics from the titans of this extraordinary sport.

See a list of all previous Mr. Olympia winner here

You may also like...